OHIO STATE REQUIREMENTS

TO BE LICENSED IN OHIO:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age to get a real estate license in Ohio.
     

  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent as recognized by the Ohio Department of Education.
     

  • Successfully complete 120 hours of required real estate education. Pre-licensing courses need be taken at an Institution of Higher Education. Not all schools may be approved. There are numerous schools, universities and community colleges that offer pre-license education around the state. Click HERE to view a few. The total 120 hours are divided as follows:

    • Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)

    • Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination and desegregation problems (40 hours)

    • Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)

    • Real Estate Finance (20 hours)

  • Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.

 

  • Obtain a sponsoring Broker

    • In order to submit an application, you must be sponsored by a Broker.

 

  • Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate.

    • In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application. For additional information on this process, contact the Division directly or review the additional information found on the Division’s website.

 


REQUIREMENTS TO SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION:

 

  • A completed Salesperson Examination Application (Note: If you answer “yes” to any of the Ethical Conduct questions, please submit a detailed explanation. Your application will be reviewed by the ODRE Legal staff.)

  • Payment of the $81 application fee

  • Proof of completion of the education requirements (a copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates).

  • The applicant must also complete a criminal records check of both state & FBI records. Information on performing a background check can be found on the Salesperson Examination Application.

Once the Division processes a complete application, the applicant’s information is sent to the testing vendor. The testing vendor will process the information and send a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions on scheduling the exam.

TAKING THE EXAM:

You will receive a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions for scheduling your test. To find your nearest testing center, click HERE.

The applicant must pass the State and National portions of the Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Exam with a score of 70 or higher in order for a license to be issued.

SALESPERSON CONTINUING EDUCATION:


Once licensed, each salesperson is required to take mandatory continuing education classes to renew their license. The state of Ohio requires 30 hours of continuing education to be completed every three years by the licensee’s birthday.

For questions and/or more information, contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing at

614-466-4100 or CLICK HERE to visit their website.

 

 

All information provided is subject to change. 

Take The Next Step

Looking for more information? Have additional questions?
We can help!

PA315_H_Seal_cream_rgb.png